The researchers

Working with dads and families

The research team brings a crucial mix of experience in developing programs for fathers and conducting ground-breaking research into fathers and fathering. While male parents are central to this project we know that a father’s wellbeing impacts and is impacted by the wellbeing of everyone in the family. SMS4dads is supported by an outstanding Advisory Committee with expertise across academic, service delivery and policy areas.

The team

SMS4dads project staff

Dr Richard Fletcher
Project Leader
Dr Chris May
Senior Project Officer
Tara Payling
Research Assistant
Jaime Wroe
PHD Student
Dr Geoff Skinner
IT Investigator

The Advisory Committee

Michael Moore, Chair
CEO, Public Health Association of Australia
Professor Ian Symonds
Dean of Medicine, Joint Medical Program
Universities of Newcastle and New England
NSW. Senior Staff Specialist Hunter New
England Area Health Service | Editor in Chief,
Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Dr Nicole Highet, Deputy Chair
CEO, Centre for Perinatal Excellence
Dr Frances Kay-Lambkin
Executive Committee Member
NHMRC Research Fellow, National Drug and
Alcohol Research Centre, UNSW
Professor Jan Nicholson
Inaugural Roberta Holmes Professorial Chair
La Trobe University
Dr Richard Fletcher, Project Leader
Senior Lecturer, The Family Action Centre
Faculty of Health and Medicine
University of Newcastle
Warren Cann
CEO, Parenting Research Centre
Professor Brian Kelly
Faculty of Health and Medicine
University of Newcastle
Pauline Hall
Clinical Psychologist, Perinatal Mental Health
The Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Adelaide
Training Coordinator, National Perinatal
Depression Initiative
Professor Jeannette Milgrom
Director, Parent-Infant Research Institute
Catherine Rawlinson
Service Development Leader
Queensland Centre for Perinatal and Infant
Mental Health Child and Youth Mental Health
Service, Children's Health Queensland
Hospital and Health Service
Professor Maralyn Foureur
Professor of Midwifery
Centre for Midwifery, Child and Family Health
University of Technology Sydney
Professor Louise Newman
Director, Centre for Women’s Mental Health
Dr Elaine Bennett
Director Services & Research
Ngala Adjunct Associate Professor
School Nursing & Midwifery, Curtin University
Barbara Wellesley
Convenor of the Early Years Chapter
Australian Research Alliance for Children and
Youth (ARACY)